One Pot Vegan Pasta

This dish was inspired by Minimalist Baker’s recipe of ‘one pot vegan pasta’ dish. The recipe is quite simple, and as the self proclaimed queen of simple dishes, I just had to try it out.  I made a few changes to the original recipe and here a the ingredients I used.
You’ll need:
Olive oil
Garlic- 6 cloves. Separate into two once chopped.
Mushrooms
Orzo pasta or any pasta of your choice
Marina sauce
Parsley- handful, chopped & separated into two.
Salt

Sauté half of the chopped garlic then add crimini mushrooms and half of the chopped parsley. I allowed this to sauté for approximately 5 mins, then added the mixture to orzo pasta with marinara sauce, half of the chopped garlic and salt. I allowed the pasta to cook as recommended for 8 minutes, then I added broccoli and cooked for another 2 minutes to allow the broccoli to cook. I then took the dish off the stove and topped with parsley and more salt. Simple yet delicious!  
I modified this dish from the original recipe by exchanging eggplant for broccoli, and I mixed the crimini mushroom sauce with pasta together and cooked all of it at the same time.  Next time, I’ll add the crimini mushroom at the end (after the pasta has cooked) as recommended – to avoid losing nutrients from the mushrooms and cook the pasta for a few minutes before adding marinara sauce.  I found that the original recipe with the marinara sauce and pasta were quick to burn on the stove, even on low heat– most likely due to thickness of the liquid.

Leave a Reply

